John Hyrum Koyle - Bishop

John Hyrum Koyle Bishop - Mormon Doctrine Studies - Posted: 16th Apr, 2009 - 6:37pm

Text RPG Play Text RPG ?

+  1 2 3 
Bishop Koyle - Dream Mine
2nd Jul, 2005 - 5:47pm / Post ID: #

Recently I started studying about Bishop Koyle and his life and prophecies have been an exciting material to read and ponder. As I continue my studies on him and his prophecies I wanted to start a thread about who he was and what a great impact he had in Church history and in the Utah state in general. Please feel free to comment and add information (specially his prophecies) and of course, your thoughts about him.

John H. Koyle was born on August 14, 1864 at Spanish Fork, Utah County. He married Emily Arvilla Holt 9 December 1884. They had four sons and three daughters. Gradually he became known as a visionary man. He grew to dream about a wide variety of subjects, including world affairs. Many of his predictions came true and earned him a following of faithful admirers.

He said that he received the visit of Angel Moroni who showed him where the treasures of the Nephites were hidden near Salem, Utah. There is a
coming calamity on Earth, Koyle was told, with financial collapse, starvation,
natural disasters. Paper money would be worthless, and $20 bills would blow
like trash in the gutter, not worth the trouble of bending over to pick them up. A
bushel of gold would buy a bushel of wheat.

But the Nephite treasure would provide for all who needed its help. It would
save the people who came to it, the greatest welfare program the world ever
has seen. Thus Koyle called it the Relief Mine.