The Writer - Fifty-two Stories Project - Short Stories
Post Date: 3rd Feb, 2016 - 11:36am / Post ID: #

KenGreen Blog
A Friend

KenGreen Blog

Ray Bradbury once gave the following advice to an aspiring writer:

international QUOTE
"Write a story every week for a year. Nobody can write fifty-two bad stories."

I don't know for a fact that Bradbury ever actually said that, or if somebody else just made that up. And I really don't care either way. Because, as an aspiring fiction writer, I feel that the whole concept of truth is highly overrated. Either way, it sounds like a challenge. So I'm going to attempt it here.

I'm challenging myself to write fifty-two stories. And I'm doing it here, in case anybody wants to watch. Because there's no point in making up a story if there's nobody to tell it to.

I don't know how this is going to turn out. I don't even know how many words I can cram into a blog post. So the first few posts, maybe even the first few weeks, are going to be very experimental in nature. I can't promise you that everything I write here is going to be entertaining, or useful, or even coherent. I don't know that this blog won't mutate into something completely different.

All I know is, I get to post here once and only once a day. So I guess I'd better make every post a good one. If you want to come along for the ride, I guess you can subscribe to this thread or something. Like I said, I'm not real clear on how this all works, or if it's going to at all.

The following is my first experiment: I'm going to see if I can paste a story from Word:

GIMMIE SHELTER

Gogs crammed her hands deeper into her jacket pockets. It was a cold day in the park, with the wind coming off the lake. And Wire was late.