Exchange Rate

Exchange Rate - Trinidad, Tobago / Caribbean - Posted: 30th Sep, 2003 - 1:38am

Text RPG Play Text RPG ?

+  1 2 
7th Aug, 2003 - 2:37pm / Post ID: #

Exchange Rate

Do you think the current exchange rate for a US dollar of 6:1 is based on the relevant economic factors or is it because the government wants to keep our money low enough that external businesses would find hiring here easy, such as in the oil and gas industry?

Sponsored Links:
3rd Sep, 2003 - 3:54am / Post ID: #

Rate Exchange

well hmm...thats a tough question. As far as i know, Trinidad is operated under a "dirty float", which means that we have a floating exchange rate but the government occasionally intervenes to change the value of the currency. In my opinion, due to the fairly recent political instability and declining exports,it is very possible that the government has stepped in to encourage foreign investment.....of course im not an expert wink.gif

18th Sep, 2003 - 2:27pm / Post ID: #

Exchange Rate Caribbean / Tobago & Trinidad

I wonder where the US rate would be without the intervention of the government? Any guesses? One thing for sure... I know all the US companies that come here thrive on the 'cheap' labour because of a high exchange rate that benefits them.

26th Sep, 2003 - 2:40am / Post ID: #

Rate Exchange

well...your guess is as good as mine.

but its not only the exchange rate that benefits them in terms of cheap labour.  If you noticed, our minimum wage is much lower than that of the Us or UK (after conversion of course). This is because our cost of living is much lower than theirs.

therefore, the combination of a high exchange rate, along with our relatively low minimum wage, is a recipe for their success!!

26th Sep, 2003 - 5:53am / Post ID: #

Rate Exchange

This is because our cost of living is much lower than theirs.